What did you do with your extra time?

So today we had an extra second, our Leap Second, to balance out something scientific or another πŸ™‚ There is a fishing rodeo in town tonight and so I got to spend my extra second stuck on top of the ferris wheel with my son.

I don’t like ferris wheels. I don’t mind heights. And I don’t mind rides that go fast or upside down. I love roller coasters. I don’t like ferris wheels. So it makes sense that Jack would be anxiously awaiting the ferris wheel, and that we would end up sitting on top, just sitting waiting for it to move for that extra second of the day.

Aside from the death grip I had I Jack’s arm, and the other on the rail, I thought about the fact that things did look quite peaceful from the top. And that if I weren’t terrified I could take a picture for the extra second and it would probably turn out quite beautiful. But as it was, my child isn’t afraid of ferris wheels, which makes me not trust his 3-year-old impulsiveness to sit still while I attempt to gather the courage to let go of anything and take a picture.

So instead what I was left with was a nice little moment of peace and realization that even though I was terrified, I was in awe of the beauty that surrounded us. I could feel the calm, feel the love. And it was a pretty awesome second. Made more awesome by the knowledge that it was one more second passing that brought me closer to where I wanted to be. Which was safe and sound on the ground.

We normally have 86,400 seconds in a day. Today we had 86,401. Do you know what you did with them? Each second, each moment is a chance to live and grow closer to your goal. To face your fear. To climb to new heights. How do you spends your seconds?

About laurenc129

I'm a mom. Sometimes my hands turn orange. Other times I write. On twitter: @laurenc129

Posted on June 30, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 41 Comments.

  1. Saturday was a very moving an opening day for me, and I went on a Ferris wheel on Saturday as well how strange! While I was high above the sky I was with 2 of my new found friends at a festival I was attending all weekend and it was great. I gained a lot of confidence and excitement to make other people smile. I really enjoyed my extra second and I’m glad you did as well!

    Like

  2. we an extra second?

    Like

  3. with children… and the cyber cafe

    Like

  4. Very nice angle on this post. I missed out on this one, doing something on my own blog with this little fact. Good job!

    Like

  5. Extra second? I published the first part of my novel. πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. OooH heights! And holding onto your child at a great height!
    Now I’m trying not to think about Ferris wheels. πŸ™‚
    But today (1st July) some of my happiest moments (seconds and just over 90 minutes) were watching Spain win the European cup. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Thanks for sharing your ferris wheel moment:-) I too get giddy at great heights and hate looking down. Perhaps i’ll spend my extra second getting extra sleep tonight?

    Like

  8. Frank Fisher

    I’m glad you faced your fear! And great to ask how we spend our free time…lotta people end up wasting unfortunately. After all, free time isn’t exactly ‘free’ – we have to earn it. You’ve spent it well. Keep up the great writing Lauren!

    Like

  9. There was an extra second? Jeeze, I gotta get out more on that tour bus called ‘life’. FYI, nice post, although I dunno why you don’t like ferris wheels. It’s the roller coasters that you need to be frightened of – one day they could just fly right off the track. Worst thing that ever happened to me on a ferris wheel was when it stopped – for what felt like a very long time. Cheers!

    Like

  10. I share your dislike (for me fear) of ferris wheels..Like you I used to love the roller coaster but now the slow and rocky climb to the heights and especially the stopping…Now I can’t take any of those rides as my body has rejected them lol I spend my ‘seconds’ living each day doing what I feel is good for that day and trying not to have any regrets about it afterward…..Diane

    Like

  11. having those two feelings at once – fear and awe is a great way to use your extra second

    this post has made me stop and think about how much time I waste, and the fact that I should be preserving time for those things that are both awesome and scary

    Like

  12. My husband reminded me about the extra second yesterday – yours is a sweet second chance for me to remember to say I love you to him.with my leap second today. Thank you dear lady for this blog!

    Like

  13. I was probably spending it with my friends πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. this is lovely πŸ™‚ im glad you spent your time happy and content. Its good you didn’t take a photo- you dont need that photo to remind yourself of the moment. you had the moment and thats what matters.

    Like

  15. Hmmm, I don’t know how I spend all of my seconds but I always recall the “perfect ones”, a hug and kiss from my husband out of the blue, a sunrise and even a slice of Coffee cake and Cappucino with a (neglected) friend I haven’t seen for a while. I really should be taking more notice of my life as it hurtles past. Thanks, for making me think about it.

    Like

  16. I was probably either in an airport, on a plane or sleeping once I got home from spending my time at the airport and on the plane.

    It has been a very long 36 hours for me…

    Like

  17. Really enjoyed you sharing a moment in time with your son with your followers. Happy to say that any extra seconds I can spare outside of work I relish in spending with my family.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Lesson #8: Redeeming the Time. « Joy on a Shoestring

Leave a comment