Made special by the rain

Image

Yesterday we left the house for lunch with the sun shining, and returned a little over an hour later to a flooded street that I couldn’t make it down. We didn’t get home until late last night when the waters finally receded. It was an unexpected turn of events.

I had a lot planned for yesterday, a good portion of which involved my computer and looking up stuff for school and for work online. Instead, Jack and I went to my grandma’s where the only internet option is dial-up for a computer that was bought somewhere around 1996. Sometimes it does turn on, though. And you can get a decent game of solitaire in when it does.

So instead of all my plans, we visited with grandma. And it was nice. I think it was easier to accept a break because I didn’t actually have a choice. It was not possible for me to do what I felt I needed to do. I had to take the time to do something else. I didn’t have an option. And, although today I feel behind, and I woke up in the middle of the night worried that I was behind on what I needed to do (if anyone knows of a great job…feel free to let me know – or if you know how to get a lot of people to buy my book, that works too!), I also feel glad that I had to take that break.

Sometimes it seems that I’m ignoring some of the things and people I don’t want to ignore. I think for so many of us our days are quite busy. And maybe that’s why I keep going back to patience lately, I’m not really sure. But it’s hard to fit everything is. And it is overwhelming trying to schedule in all the things we need to schedule in. But sometimes when the rain comes, it’s actually coming to provide a break. To provide some solace. Or to provide a new opportunity we hadn’t thought of or had time for before. And if we have no other choice, we can take the time to play in the rain, and see where it leads us. It’s interesting how much we love and want to play in the rain as kids, and as adults we spend so much of our time trying to avoid it. Maybe the rain makes a mess and can be cold or stormy, but maybe it’s there so we direct our attention to all of the things we aren’t paying attention to.

Whether we wear a raincoat, build a tent, or dance in it, there are certain things that are made truly special only by the rain.

About laurenc129

I'm a mom. Sometimes my hands turn orange. Other times I write. On twitter: @laurenc129

Posted on July 20, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 49 Comments.

  1. If I were on my computer (and not my mother’s) I would try your book. I am writing non-fiction booklets and have looked into Smashwords.com , a publishing site for authors to self-publish. Since I am in limbo at the present, I am not able to tell you how good they are. But if I do, and it works out I’ll pass on information. Best wishes on the book, I know it is a good read by your blog.

    • What types of booklets? And yes, let me know if it works out!! I like amazon so far. They are prompt to answer my questions and it’s fairly easy to set things up.

  2. I’ve come to LOVE the rain when did it happen not a clue but it’s something that makes me really happy. When ever the “Liquid Sunshine” as I call it at times comes down, I feel calm and feel compelled to just take a break relax and just listen to it. Wish I could buy a ton of books to help you out πŸ˜›

  3. Love the picture and the message. As the mom of 5 with a full time job and a religious Jew, our “rain” is the Sabbath, which in Hebrew is called Shabbat. Every Saturday is a day off, technically it’s a day of rest. No computers, electricity (we used timers) no cars, no pens…basically it’s a time for resting, reading and getting together with friends for festive meals or relaxation. It TOTALLY helps with that feeling of being overwhelmed…sure everything is just put on hold and Sundays (in Israel) are a work day -so it just piles up! But it’s worth it!

  4. Oft times it is the unplanned opportunity to enjoy simple things that brings the most joy. I enjoyed it

  5. I love the rain, and this post captures the beauty of the rain, and what it does for us. Thanks.

  6. Beautiful picture, by the way.

  7. I like storms… I love watching the lightning. The storms here in the US are so much stronger than in England. I used to watch movies and think, that’s so over-done. You never get storms like that LOL And then I emigrated to Oklahoma… wow LOL

    Anyway… what kind of work are you looking for?

    • I also meant to say, Jack looks adorable LOL The look on his face is priceless. I can almost hear you saying “Jack… just stand there a moment… I want to take a quick photo for my blog” LOL

      Reminds me of James at that age πŸ™‚

      • Ha, that is actually from over a year ago. I haven’t taken very many pictures at all since starting the blog. I think to myself all the time that I need to take some for it, but never end up with the time to do it! πŸ™‚

      • RE the photo… now I feel cheated LOL

        RE the work – have you thought about freelance writing? You have an exceptional skill for writing motivational pieces. I don’t know you well enough to understand your other skills, but writing / journalism could be an option.

        Alas, although my company has locations all over the US, I don’t know of anything that would specifically suit you – although sometimes I really wish we had our own counsellor because training classes can drive me nuts!! (Except we probably wouldn’t be allowed to say “nuts”… or “crazy”… or “insane”… what about “bonkers” – not many people over here in the US know about that…)

      • Ha! sorry! I really should start taking some for the blog. I just need to set up a time to do it!

    • The kind that pays well! Ha. My backgrounds are in psychology, education, and business… and of course writing… so anything to remotely do with any of those, except counseling people, because I burned out on that, and can’t think of a situation other than career counseling or things that are lighter in nature than dealing with mental illness tends to be, where I can do that and keep my sanity…

  8. It’s raining here as I type! When we get a monsoon storm, the air cools a good 20 degrees or more, and the rain-washed desert smells lovely. Last weekend, our backyard had at least 2″ of water in it, but it had all gone by morning. We definitely welcome any rain here as our average is only 12″ annually. It makes it easier to pull up weeds, too! And taking a break is always a good thing; we all need that downtime to recharge our batteries, which most of us don’t do as often as we should. Good for you!

    • Wow, 20 degrees is a nice drop! If it rains 2″ here my street floods! The neighborhoods are a bit sunken… I’ve never been to a desert. But I love the smell of rain πŸ™‚

  9. Yeah we all get them kind of days, in Britain we get lots of rain! But at least you got time to visit your grandma and your wee man is too cool for school πŸ™‚ What kind of job are you looking for by the way?

  10. Brianna Soloski

    Sometimes the events that force you to take a break end up being the best. I’m in the same boat trying to sell my books. It’s a struggle every day to market myself without spamming people.

  11. i love this! if there is a storm i will stop everything and watch it too, there is something about it that mesmerizes me and the world around me doesn’t exist in those moments…i love the smell of the rain too! πŸ™‚

  12. Garden Gate Project

    Great picture of your son. He is adorable.

  13. Sometimes when we’re forced to ‘take a break’ it works out better in the long run and you’ve had that special time you wouldn’t have had….Diane

  14. You have the most beautiful child. I’m glad you got a chance to take a break and play a little in the rain. P.S If anyone comes back to you on the how to sell a lot of books thing – You know where I am. :o) As always, a thoughtful and delightful post.

  15. Good for you! Time off and a visit with the old folks. They really need it.

  16. I run under the assumption that I will never have a moment where at least SOMETHING is due or on deadline. So, I just stop when I want to stop now a days. I have given up on trying to plan some sort of time to quit etc… It really is nice to be forced to take a break sometimes, so I can see where this “moment” was memorable in many ways.

  17. great picture! Whose kitty is in the background?

  18. Loved this. My kids are now grown ups…24 and 21. Definitely make time for the rain days. Like you always hear…they are gone in a flash.

    • πŸ™‚ These 3 and a half years have flown by. I used to take care of my nephews when they were babies and next week they will both be teenagers. One starting high school soon after! It’s CRAZY to me how quickly time flies!

  19. Joy on a Shoestring

    This is lovely, thank you so much for sharing. I have recently encountered this very thing: an unexpected, much-needed day off that I thought I couldn’t afford but couldn’t avoid. And I’ve loved it! Such an important lesson and I needed the reminder today πŸ™‚

  20. It’s raining in NYC today, and what a welcome respite THAT is…on SOOOO many levels! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

