Day 26 – Remembering the things that make you smile

Image

Today my post may be a little different. There are a variety of reasons for this. I have a few family members in the hospital. I can’t visit them because my son is still sick. I have work that is due, that I don’t feel like doing, so I’m doing this instead for now. Things seem to continue to be piling up, and so today I wanted to make sure that my son and I had a little fun. He has been sick so we haven’t been outside much in the past week, but his fever has been gone since yesterday morning, so we went outside for a few minutes.

I don’t know how many of you watched the show FRIENDS, but there is an episode of it where Phoebe runs weird. She runs with her hands and arms flailing and it’s in a weird motion, but at the end they decide it’s the only way to run because it’s way more fun. That show happened to be on today and Jack wanted to go outside and run, so we did. We ran with our arms flailing around and he was yelling tag, and even though it was only for about 10 or 15 minutes we both couldn’t stop laughing and smiling.

In all seriousness, I have noticed that it’s truly difficult not to smile when someone is running after you yelling tag. If you let yourself play, it’s nearly impossible not to have fun. I think that’s one of my favorite things about my son and my nephews. They do such a good job reminding me to do things that I forgot I like to do. I had flashbacks of playing freeze tag on the playground at school as a kid. And then of my leg getting caught in the slide and hanging upside down until the principal came and got me down because he was the only one tall enough to reach me. That part was less fun, but that’s not the point. I slid down the slide again, and no real harm was done.

My point is, take the time this weekend to do something you don’t normally do. Something you forgot you like to do. In the US it’s a holiday weekend, so there’s extra time. If you want to share your stories, please do so. I love to hear them. Make time, even if it’s just a few minutes, to experience the laughter and joy. (I told this story to my friend and he is renting a Nintendo and the game Paperboy, because that’s what used to make him smile. He says physical activity has never been his friend.) Whatever it is, find your lost love and enjoy! (And you know, tell me what it is. I’m nosy like that.)Β  πŸ™‚

About laurenc129

I'm a mom. Sometimes my hands turn orange. Other times I write. On twitter: @laurenc129

Posted on May 26, 2012, in 31 days of May, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Very nice thought. πŸ™‚ Yes, sometimes we have so many stuff going on with our lives and we tend to forget to take a breather and so something light and fun. Your site is inspiring.

  2. What a joyful post, young lady! It inspired me to write on my blog about a silly but joyful time while I was recently at my sister’s, helping care for and watch over our Mom for a month. I am also reminded that my favorite childhood character was Peter Pan. Perhaps some of us really will never grow up. ;-0 And it’s okay. God Bless You and I pray that little Jack is all better.

    • Thank you! Jack actually just watched Peter Pan for the first time a few days ago. He’s a fan! And is finally starting to get better, just a bit of a cough still lingering.

  3. I love that episode of Friends, and I always think of Phoebe when I watch Charlotte run- little kids are so free and uninhibited, it’s beautiful.

  4. It’s a great post. Yes once in a while, we need to do stuffs, which were giving us real happiness. Thanks a lot for the remainder. Have a great Sunday.

  5. Great idea πŸ™‚ Alas, James is still on antibiotics for his pink eye, strep throat and ear infection (although he’s a LOT better) and it’s going to be in the mid nineties until Tuesday… so we’re gonna have an indoors weekend! It was stifling when I went out earlier… it’s midnight now and it’s still 82F outside. But I like your idea… I need to think of something πŸ™‚

    • Ha, yes it is stifling outside now!! You are right. Our lows did dip down to 78 though. πŸ™‚ I hope James is starting to feel better. Jack still has a cough and lots of sinus drainage, but his temps have been down now and he’s got a lot more energy back. Which is nice.

  1. Pingback: Young at Heart « God's Word for Women

Leave a Reply

