Day 7 – Catching up and Technology

So as an update – Day 1: Thankful for the end of one class and a break for a week.

Day 2: My family

Day 3: My friends

Day 4: My son and my nephews – whose existence brought me to understand love without selfishness, without limitation, and literally changed my world in the best way possible.

Day 5: I posted on Monday

Day 6: Democracy (I deliberately stayed offline the majority of the day…and I know my post Monday was about voting, but I think it’s only appropriate. )

Day 7: I’m thankful for technology. And I mean that in the sincerest way. Technology, and specifically the internet has really helped enhance the world as a whole. It has given us access to people we wouldn’t have had access to before, at least not in such a real and immediate manner. We can look through cameras aimed at cities around the world. We can see cultures in full form and learn and appreciate one another in a way that wasn’t existent 20 years ago. We can find friends we wouldn’t get to connect with otherwise. We can talk to family members in different cities, states, or even countries. We can find the answer to almost any question in a matter of seconds, and with a few more minutes of research we can find the real answer. 🙂 We can connect to people who want to build each other up, who want to encourage, uplift, and inspire one another. We have places like this, where we can meet with each other, and see our goals, see our weaknesses, see what others are sharing with the world in way that never would have been possible otherwise. And we have the opportunity to help. To give of ourselves. To share what is unique about ourselves in a way that inspires. We have the chance to rise to the occasion and ease the burden by offering what we have. We can see people in need and find a way to help. And that’s why I’m thankful for technology, and specifically the internet, and more specifically this blog and places like it!

About laurenc129

I'm a mom. Sometimes my hands turn orange. Other times I write. On twitter: @laurenc129

Posted on November 7, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I too am thankful for technology and the internet.
    Most recently for learning and connecting to so many bloggers especially those who are sharing their faith in Christ.

  2. I’m a sucker for Google Earth street view myself, handy tool for writers but you’re right there’s so much out there, it’s almost too distracting 🙂

    • I love Google’s street view!! It’s my favorite thing about Google maps now! Very helpful, because I’m always unsure I’m at the right place, even if it says the right address. —and yeah, I definitely get distracted too often by all the technology! 🙂

  3. “We can find the answer to almost any question in a matter of seconds, and with a few more minutes of research we can find the real answer.”

    So what you’re saying is, you go to Wikipedia first and then you go find the real answer? 😛

Leave a Reply

