It’s Monday morning, what’s on your horizon?

Image

It’s Monday morning. The start to a new week. The first week of July. The year is now just more than half-way completed. And though this fact is slightly frustrating for me, because time seems to incessantly fly these days, I decided I would make sure to do everything I can to make this week a great week.

I have no plans other than working. But I do realize that we have the chance to start off each week with the expectation of having a great week, and with the capacity to do what we can to make it so. If we think of the things we want to happen during a week, the things that we can do each day that will bring us closer to who we want to be then we can map out a week that makes us feel accomplished. So I’m making it a point to add in the things that I have been delaying doing (talking to bookstores about my book) and making excuses for doing (I will exercise today, despite the heat and despite having Jack with me).

With each new week, we have the chance to make it a week worth our time. And to do this we fill our time with things that are worthwhile. There are things we have to do in life, things we need to do in life, and things we want to do with our lives. When the things we want to do take on the role of things we have to do and need to do we make them a priority. If we don’t make the things we want in life a priority, then we will never look back and see them done. It’s okay doing the things we may not want to do, if we are also doing the things that make us feel like us. The things that make us feel like we are becoming the person we want to be. We can achieve happiness through the tiniest of actions, as long as those actions line up with who we want to be. As we take the time to remember that our dreams are worth accomplishing, our time is worth spending well, our hopes are worth believing, then we can take time each day to make our day great. And this can turn into a great week. Which turns into a great month. And then a great year. And eventually we will see a great life. A life where we filled our weeks and our days, our time, with the things we loved and felt were worthwhile. We lived a life of worth and hope. And when we do that, we find happiness and by default we share it with others.

So this week as you get the chance to choose how to spend your time, spend it making the week great. Make it a point to incorporate the things you need to look back and say, “This was a great week!” Take the time to look back and feel like you are making it a point to become the person you want to be.

Happy Monday everyone!

 

(and you know, if you need a good read for the week, my book will be on sale through Saturday for .99 on Amazon. Where else can you buy happiness for a dollar??)

About laurenc129

I'm a mom. Sometimes my hands turn orange. Other times I write. On twitter: @laurenc129

Posted on July 2, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 65 Comments.

  1. mrinalmylove

    You really are an optimist! And thanks for liking my post! 🙂

  2. I really enjoyed the Monday article.
    The picture was an added bonus, the black and while photo really added something to the whole piece.
    I enjoy your site and I look forward to more

  3. I love your outlook, and that is a fantastic photo.

  4. Thank you for the reminder! Maybe it wouldn’t have stuck quite like this is I’d read it on Monday, but now that it’s Wednesday and I think of things on my to-do list, I feel much more free to carve some me-time, to make my days and week great 🙂

  5. thanks for your wonderful perspective…have a fab week 🙂

  6. Monday Morning People Unite! :))

  7. whitethoughts

    What a great attitude! Happiness for a dollar sounds like a good price to me 😉 Thank you for liking my post, it is very much appreciated.

  8. I have no words of wisdom tonight… my own post kinda wiped me out… but I’m glad I took the time to write it… and now you’ve given me something new to think about… 🙂

    Have a peaceful week… clear skies 🙂

  9. Thanks for stopping by my blog today! Glad I found yours !

  10. Reading your blog and all the comments shared has lifted my spirits!! Thank you for the simplicity 🙂

  11. Great post! Too many people dread Mondays, because it means the weekend is over and they have to go back to work. I haven’t had that attitude in a long time but can remember when I did; it made the week drag and very little good came of it. My attitude now, and I share it with everyone who complains about back-to-work Monday is that I get to go somewhere where people like me and pay me money for being there.

    Changing attitudes makes a big difference!

    • Attitude makes a huge difference! I still dread the end of the weekend sometimes, but I try to maintain a positive mindset and enjoy every day instead! 🙂

  12. Great post and a great way to start my day 😉

  13. It’s kinda scary how fast time flies. I didn’t realize it’s July 2nd until I looked at the lower-right corner of my monitor at work and thought “WHAT HAPPENED TO APRIL?”

  14. Thank you for reminding us how valuable it is to live in the moment and enjoy every day. I blogged about the same idea earlier this year. Perhaps you would like to read my ideas. I doubt that the meditation is new to you, but perhaps this places it in a new light. I find it very beautiful and calming.

    http://investmeinmymotley.wordpress.com/2012/02/20/look-to-this-day/

  15. Thank you for dropping past my site today I pray you enjoyed it and was bless..please do come again…

  16. i truly hope you have a wonderful week!

  17. Hi Lauren, Thanks so much for your “Like” today, we were on the same page! After reading about your book and all, sounds like you have much to celebrate at the halfway point of 2012! Have fun this week!

  18. It’s so true to treat each day as a new beginning and as a gift we have been given to do or make of it what we want it to be!…Diane

  19. Yes these days are slipping away. All I can say is whatever you do with the time you have, make it forth while…

  20. PhillipDeems

    Very nice. Well done and I think the picture is wonderful also. Appropriately…Have a fantastic week.

  21. Im curious. Your blog you astutely named betweenfearandlove. Serioulsy, it’s (I believe) based on an understanding of spiritual choices applicable and universal. Every individual (that I know) who practices or wants to practice a life with principles, (fear—————–love),
    develops a plan, or path that if life doesnt throw a shit kicker at them; all pretty much goes as nuerotic as usual.Have you ever taken a magic carpet ride on the carpet that had “Fear” woven into it so intricately and beautifully you mistook it for rescue? All of that to say, I thought of the dialectical situation, and balance is always a good place to master thru waves of grief hilarity and confusion. However, I learned a long time ago the dialect was (fear———–faith). Does this differ from your between fear and love? Faith in a higher power/God means one knows a Univesal love and in order to maintain that…..Well Ive blabbed enough. I’m always trying to get to the bottom of a repeating decimal. Chow.

    • Ha! That was a lot…. in terms of love and fear, the short answer is, I think of them as opposite… love is where the potential lies… where creation takes place, and fear is where there is no potential, no creation takes place. It’s not based on a relationship, or anything like that… my real answer was 3 chapters long and another 3 or 4 on fear. But I think faith is born out of love. just not the way we normally think of love.

      I hope that made sense! 🙂

  22. Great post, Lauren. And that it one adorable picture of your little boy!

  23. I love this blog, and it has taken a jet lagged Monday and turned it into something a bit more wonderful! I love the power of intention, and without reflection, intention can slip away from us faster than a fading summer tan! (We live in Washington, where summer tan lines are rather elusive!). I love the subject of your book as well! Self esteem is a tender, difficult thing to get right! Thanks for the help! 🙂

    • 🙂 Thanks! I live in the south, and my tan lines never fade, which is unfortunate. I have multiple! I like the power of intention, too. And you are right, it can slip quite quickly!

  24. Happy Monday to you too! I love the pic in this blog. Is that your son?

  25. You are an incredible person. I enjoy the things you share. Blessings to you.

  26. What a great post! It’s funny that your post is on this since I had the same notion regarding what I wanted to do this coming week and how I wasn’t going to let a single moment pass me by where I didn’t live with purpose. I’m looking forward to future posts!

  27. What an awesome blog. Interestingly, my Pastor preached a sermon about ‘Time’ just yesterday entitled “It’s Time … Now!(It’s Your Time)” from Romans 13:11 and 2 Corinthians 6:1-2 … Your blog refreshed some of the highlights he shared: how important it is to establish priorties, treasure, invest, manage and ENJOY the time God has given to us all. Have a great week and much success on your book. Thanks too for checking out my blog.

  28. The photo is classic Norman Rockwell and I really enjoyed your blog this morning. It gave me a lift on a Monday morning.

  29. Good to be reminded it’s the little things that add up to the big things. Like a coral reef. Hard to build, easy to destroy.

  30. That’s such an adorable picture.

Leave a Reply

