Up to the Mountain – When it seems the world is against your dreams

and this is a different version, but one that I love:

There is a song called “Up to the Mountain” by Patty Griffin. She wrote it thinking of what it would have been like for Martin Luther King, Jr. to have seen what he saw – to have his dream. He had gone Up to the Mountain, and seen how wonderful everything could be. But the world had other plans. He faced opposition everywhere he turned. He had to fight and fight and fight from the moment his dream began. Nothing came easy. He got worn down, but he never gave up on seeing his dream come to pass.

We all have dreams. We all have those moments of clarity, where we are up on that mountain top looking out over and where we can see our dream come to pass. It’s like the world falls into place. We know at that moment in that time we have something worth offering. Something in us tells us that we have the capacity to achieve it. But what happens afterwards is often times not that easy. We’ve seen where we want to go, but it seems that no one else is interested in us going there.

We receive opposition from all sides. It’s confusing. It’s heartbreaking even at times. It wears us down. One of my favorite things that I’ve heard people say when it comes to religion is that “even Jesus wasn’t allowed to perform miracles in his hometown.” People in our lives know us in the way that they know us. The adults around us know us as the children we were. Our friends know us as the people we were when we met. Our family knows us as we were when we were little. And those things are very hard to break. People’s ideas of who we are tend to be quite strong. And in general, we aren’t interested in those around us changing. It’s hard to handle when the people around us become “unpredictable.” We have certain patterns that we all work in. We have roles for everyone in our lives. And we usually like for those roles to stay the same, whether they are good for us or not.

The thing is, if we are going to achieve our dreams, we are going to have to fight. And sometimes we are going to have to change our situation. We have to leave people behind who don’t understand and who aren’t supportive. Not necessarily in a way where there is no contact, though sometimes that’s the case. But in a way that allows us to feel free to go forth in our journey to accomplish the things we need to accomplish to live a life of happiness that is fulfilling. People will come in and out of our lives. Few will stay for the long haul. And even fewer will allow us to change and grow.

When that opposition comes against us, we have to be willing to fight. We have to go back up to the mountain, and remember that there is something out there worth fighting for. That our lives and our dreams are worth fighting for. We are worth fighting for. Our happiness matters. Our desires matter. And we are the only ones who can accomplish them. So keep fighting. Keep working. Keep climbing back up, no matter who tries to knock you down. You have it within you. So keep taking chances and grow!

About laurenc129

I'm a mom. Sometimes my hands turn orange. Other times I write. On twitter: @laurenc129

Posted on June 16, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 172 Comments.

  1. What a powerful and empowering post. So many truths within. Especially about us not wanting others to change and them not seeing us the way we long to be seen.

  2. I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award so that the people who follow my blog may have a chance to read yours. I have found your blog truly inspirational. Please feel free to accept or decline as you wish. The listing for the award can be found on my current post
    http://almostspring.com/2012/08/26/awards/
    Best wishes 🙂

  3. Hello, I love your blog. I have nominated you for the Super Sweet Award. Details here; http://livinggoodandgreat.wordpress.com?p=333

  4. I enjoyed reading this post. Your right people come and go from our lives, but not without leaving us with something that we were supposed to have learned from them.
    Sometimes we may question WHY! But at the end of the day everything is as it should be.
    Thanks again.

  5. rabbittandwolf

    Sometimes, all we have to do is ask, and the universe sends us the answers to our questions. Funny. Once, in my youth, I was en route to the airport to meet an old flame, and I was hesitant to do so… for many reasons… but anyway, right there in the middle of the street was this homeless man holding up a HUGE sign which read: “If your not happy, your heading in the wrong direction!” Needless to say, I did not make that flight. thanks for your post.

    • That’s a great story! One I need to remember. Relationships can get complicated and it’s hard to the remember the reasons we don’t want to go when the pull to go can be so strong. I’m glad you shared that!!

  6. I’m ready to carry on now. Thank you for the pep talk!

  7. Excellent post! I have had a couple false starts on different projects that I have started throughout my life…and have just recently started picking some of them up again (unfortunately years after they were started). Thank you for the inspiration to keep pluggin at it…they may not be completed today or even tomorrow…but eventually I’ll get there 🙂

    • I’ve had a number of false starts myself. I’m glad you are picking them up again! Keep at it, you might as well start now, otherwise it will only be later 🙂 We can start yesterday, but we can start today.

  8. so inspiring! thank you!

  9. Oh I so get this! Very inspiring and uplifting… Thank you for visiting my site and liking my recent post – I can see many parallels drawn =)

  10. I like to mix my dreams with realism. Dreams are very useful for staying motivated, but they are different from expectations. Everyone should dream, but no one should expect to succeed, because too many don’t despite a lot of earnest effort. Let’s hope I can someday find your kind of success.

  11. I’m reminded of the Howard Thurman quote, “Do not ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” Thank you for bravely sharing your Truth. Brave onward.

  12. That was beautiful 🙂 Nice blog and thank you for the like on my post!

  13. Wow your post was truely inspiring and thanks for checking out my blog.

  14. Love this so much. Really Really inspiring. And thank you for liking my posts as well 🙂

  15. This is a beautiful post! I will try to figure out how to print it so I can keep it as a reference. Thank you.

  16. Your blogs have helped me a few times when I have been struggling with a few things… I just wanted to take the few moments to stop and say thank you 🙂

  17. This was so encouraging to read after such a stressful day!

    Bless you

  18. Very stimulating post! Any dream that takes work is worth the fight. Have a inspiring day!

  19. I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award
    1. Link back to the person who nominated you: http://transformedbythejourney.com/
    2. Post the award image to your page:

    3. Tell 7 facts about yourself:
    4. Nominate 15 other bloggers and let them know they’ve been nominated.

  20. http://lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com
    this post was so inspiring to me, it reminded me of a time in my life when i was having such a hard time and my sister incouraged me to fight for what is mine, I havent heard anyone saying anything like that in a while. So thanks and have a wonderful day. Betty

    • Thank you for sharing that! I’m glad you were encouraged, and that you had people around you to help you! It’s always a good thing to have people who are truly interested in your well being! 🙂

  21. wow, the paragraph about the patterns and roles we put people in and we are put in ourselves…I have always thought about this, but here it is, expressed coherently! Thanks.

  22. “The thing is, if we are going to achieve our dreams, we are going to have to fight.”

    right on!

    this is a very inspirational piece. it reminds me of an old post of mine. here’s the link if you care to read:

    http://plaridel.wordpress.com/2010/11/29/the-mountain-may-be-high/

  23. Thanks for sharing this Inspring post.

  24. Love this Lauren!! I have to share a chuckle… when reading the last line of this post I thought it said “Keep taking chances and growl”…. Sometimes I think a little growling might be in order eh?
    Will have to read more of your posts, I’ve a feeling we share some similiarities 😉
    Have a FABULOUS day!
    ~Sue

  25. Came past your blog by chance and really enjoyed reading this post. Beautiful, motivational wriitng! Well done, keep up the excellent work

  26. Melissa Burklow

    Great post–the ones who stick it out will be the people who do great things for us. It makes you wonder what this world would be like if everyone stuck to their dreams.

  27. I’m so glad I have found your words. I really need it right now since I have been feeling that, indeed, the world is against my dreams. Thank you for sharing this Lauren. Godspeed!

  28. drsuraiyanasim

    Hi lauren! Thankyou for visiting my blog! 🙂
    This post is lovely. I can really connect to it. Keep up the good work!

  29. Good morning – I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blog Award. Check out my post at http://www.pczick.wordpress.com.

  30. Enjoyed your musings about fighting to change one’s self. I was struck by your observation that: “And even fewer will allow us to change and grow” in reference to those who know us best. Thanks for sharing!

  31. Susan,
    Thank you so much for such an inspirational and encouraging post . Loved it!

  32. Totally sweet post laurenc129. I’ve reblogged it.

  33. Reblogged this on Head in my Hands and commented:
    I’m liking this! On the verge of an excellent adventure that has me both shaking in my boots and over the moon excited, this courage injecting post will help me climb my mountain!

  34. This post is going to inspire me while I pursue my dreams for sure. You are a wonderful writer, your words always inspires everyone. Great post.

  35. What a lovely and inspiring post! I’m a big fan of Kelly Clarkson’s version of this song and am definitely going to give the original a listen now, too.

    • I love her version! That was the first place I heard it, and then I went to research it some and when I came across the story behind it I was really moved and impressed!

  36. This is such an encouraging post. The only constant in the world is change(does it still apply nowadays?) and we have to learn how to dance with it. Keep on posting Laurenc129.

  37. I agree with you wholeheartedly and couldn’t have said it better myself! 🙂

  38. Great post, Lauren. Some people don’t recognize us as we change and it’s also good not to recognize ourselves – to do things different! I always say, “To be more you, be less you.” When we take on a new behavior, we grow in surprising ways!
    Diana Bletter
    http://www.thebestchapter.com

  39. Awesome post. It reminds me of the theme of the book “Hinds Feet in High Places”. Lovely read, thanks

  40. I am following your site now… Please follow mine too!!! a lot of thanks to you dear!!!

  41. Wow. I can’t tell you how awesome it was to come upon your post. thanks

  42. Wonderfully inspiring post! Thank you for the reminders about change and the necessity to keep following our own paths.

  43. Thanks Lauren for the great post. I love the comfortable yet sage-like way you share these important life lessons! Thanks for being there to remind & encourage. Cheers! Offer K.

  44. Thanks for the new follow on my blog and great post!!! 😀

  45. True words and thoughtful message! I’m at that turning point to fight for the things I think are important in this life while adversity plays at my feet. Thank you for your post!

  46. “We have to leave people behind who don’t understand and who aren’t supportive.” What an inspiring declaration! This is very hard to do but necessary to live our soul if we choose to lift up to God. So many of us don’t choose to know God deeply enough to understand that He gives us each an opportunity to live our dream. IT’s like the saying in scripture, “many are called, few are chosen.” I don’t believe any of us called or chosen are better than anyone else. The message is simply, are we willing to glorify the LORD, no matter what?

    Thank you for clicking the like button on my blog!!
    Cindy Eksuzian

  47. You seem to have the power to say things in such a clear, understandable, nice way! It’s great.

  48. What you said about ‘even fewer will support you as you change’ made me think!
    When we change we don’t just change ourselves. We change those around us, to a lesser degree. It often brings them to look at themselves more, and maybe ask the question ‘why aren’t I following my dream too’? If they’re insecure about this and prefer to deny it, that will manifest itself as them opposition to the change you’re making.
    This is the same for smaller change – I’ve seen it when friends start up a fitness program or new diet. We often oppose it right away, for the same reasons.

    It’s unfortunate but true! Thanks for the post

    • That’s so true. The things that those around us do make a difference to us. We can’t help but take it in. We can’t help but process it somehow. And it does change us. We’re very quick to resist change. It’s important to try to be open to it instead. That’s a really great point. Thank you for sharing that! 🙂

  49. AMEN, sista! Oh, I am so happy that you found my blog and now I, yours. LOVE your writing style, woman. LOVE this “Up to the Mountain” piece so much. I just had such a hell-beast weekend with my motorcycle touring clients; I was ready to scrap it all and give up; it really took the wind out of my sails, but your wonderful blog post gave me my fight back. Thank you, thank you, thank you, Lauren. 🙂

    • 🙂 That’s amazing! And I think the motorcycle tour sounds awesome! My aunt and uncle ride. They’ve gone down the PCH. I’ve never been on one. Not since I was little and we went around the parking lot once. Keep fighting! Don’t let anyone get you down!

      • Well, even if you don’t ride, you are cool in my book, lady! And, I love your aunt and uncle; very cool peeps! Keep writing and inspiring us, girl and thanks again for the lovely energy that you offer the world. Your wind-sister, Lizzy!

      • 🙂 Well thank you! I would like to learn one day, just not a convenient travel method with a little one!

  50. You beat me to tell you, I guess! Haha! I just got the “Liebster” award and nominated You next!!! http://bit.ly/NEFxXU

  51. thank you much dear for liking my post.. appreciated it much! i like you’re blog, hope you can visit mine often. Thanks

    Please have time to make comments on my blog too…

  52. This post resonates with my life right now. I’ve been feeling like David facing the giants (not just Goliath) – sometimes our biggest hurdles are the ones that seem harmless. A friend who stands in your way. A family member who doesn’t understand boundaries. But WE are worth fighting for. Our voice matters.

    Thank you for sharing such a profound and poignant post. I will keep this with me for several days.

  53. Thanks for the encouragement. Great post!

  54. This is a fantastic post! And exactly why I started my blog…because I’m in the phase of my life where I am dreaming boldly and moving ahead in the next stage of life.

  55. just an ordinary girl

    Reblogged this on Dkernizah's Blog and commented:
    awesome 🙂

  56. kellyleichert

    Just what I needed to hear. Thanks!

  57. Great inspiring article! “I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me!” for, “greater is He who is in me than he who is in the world!”

  58. Beautiful words of encouragement. “The thing is, if we are going to achieve our dreams, we are going to have to fight” – These words are true. Life is surely full of mountains and dreams are surely worth fighting for. Thanks so much for visiting My Journal of Praise and liking a post.

  59. Reblogged this on lejeune's french bread and commented:
    Lauren’s message is in line with one of the motifs of my blog. If you enjoyed the message in “Saint Steeler,” you may enjoy this one.

  60. Yep, excellent message today.

  61. I love this and can so relate these days. You know too, trying to write and be a mom. It’s tough, but keep going!

  62. Thanks for this post.

  63. I really needed to read this right now. Thank you 🙂

  64. “Our desires matter” .. may seem obvious to some people but it means a lot to me right now. Thank you.

  65. Wonderful and inspirational words for those who need encouragement to keep pushing toward that goal…Diane

  66. Another lovely post. Everytime I read one of your posts somehow it reminds me to never give up and to just step forward. Thank you!

  67. Very inspirational blog and great post! Every article is fun to read with great insight that motivates and inspires people.

  68. I want to keep clicking the ‘like’ button on your words, over and over again!
    You inspire and enchant me!
    Your words rouse me to climb my mountain, and look at the extraordinary distance I have travelled.
    Thank You my friend. Elyn ❀✿❀

  69. So, so inspiring. “Our happiness matters.” Yes! Also, thanks for liking one of my posts on my blog!

  70. Lovely post. 🙂

  71. Great post, during my campaign getting to Haiti I’ve been blessed to have so many supporters, although I have run into a few people who don’t support me and it got me down, but just going back over my blog and messages from supporters I quickly got over the “hater” thanks for the Post.

  72. I feel like I was meant to see this post. Thank you for your knowledge and wisdom and lovely writing.

  73. hannahthedevries

    You said so many great things in this post that I agree with. I have gone through many of the same situations that you wrote about, and the part where you said, “The adults around us know us as the children we were,” and our friends know us only as the person we were when we first met, is so true! You talked about leaving the people behind who hold these impressions against us, and I see how leaving them would keep ourselves from being held back from who we are and what we are capable of doing. But the hard part of this is giving up the security that comes with them, and the feeling that we know who we are when we’re around them. How many times are we willing to give that up, and when will we finaly know who we are? Wow, that was a longer train of thought than I thought it would be. 😛 Great thoughts in your post, and thanks for liking one of mine!

    • It is definitely security for us to maintain the same roles all the time. And giving them up doesn’t necessarily mean removing them from our lives. But it means that it’s harder for us to challenge ourselves to grow and change and follow our dreams if we are continuously letting them pull us down. We have to find ways to operate where we don’t let those who won’t let us change interfere in the fact that we can and often times should change. We have to make sure we concentrate on where we are going and block out the others. Some people it really is hard to keep in our lives in the role they played when we are going somewhere new. That’s, like you said, the most difficult thing of all. And we can know who we are right now, and know we will probably change in the future, because we are ever growing and evolving. And we may never fully know ourselves. I wrote this on my phone, so I apologize if it doesn’t make sense. And for any autocorrect errors! 🙂 thanks for sharing all of your wonderful thoughts, I really appreciate it!

      • hannahthedevries

        And that’s the hardest part, knowing who is worth keeping and who will make us a better person. But in the end it comes down to us, and what parts of ourselves are worth keeping, and what parts will make us better with a little change. I love what you said about keeping our eyes forward, and I guess figuring out who and what is essential to keeping our dreams alive and succeeding in them is all a part of the journey of chasing a new dream. And there is a confidence that comes in knowing who we are at this point in time, but also confidence, and excitement, in knowing that we will change in the future, and that it will be a good change if we tep our eyes ahead and focused on our dreams. Everything totally made sense! Thanks for being someone who is willing to think this out and knows it’s real, not just a great discussion, and can talk about it as well!

      • That was wonderfully put! Thanks so much for sharing all of this as well. I really enjoyed it 🙂

  74. I am fighting, thanks for reassuring me that I should be. 🙂

  75. Very inspirational. And so true too! Thanks for writing this.

  76. I wouldn’t say I encountered resistance when I told my friends and family I was getting married and emigrating to the US… but I got a lot of “are you sure?” type questions. I thought my mother would be upset… but a friend told her, “you have to let him go.” I know it broke her heart when I told my parents about my impending divorce though.

    But that was a conscious decision by both my wife and I. I thought long and hard about it and realised that we both have different dreams now… and in the intervening months, I’ve come to form my own, new, hopes and dreams. My hopes and dreams are simple: I just need the standard peace, love and happiness LOL I’m prepared to work hard for them. I won’t let go.

    It’s also interesting what you wrote about adults looking upon us as children… my Mum told me once that when she dreams of me and my brother, it’s as young children. When parents dream of their adult children, they dream of them as they see them in their minds. I sometimes wonder who James will grow up to be… and while i want him to be exactly the soul and the person he truly wants and deserves to be, I think it’ll be interesting to see how his wants, needs and desires will be different from my own. Whatever his choices, I will be there for him.

    • It’s interesting how we think of others. I do it all the time with my nephews. I remember them from when they were younger and their personalities have changed so much since then. It’s funny how we hold onto things a certain way and it’s so hard to retrain ourselves to view people differently!

    • For my 40th birthday (now a few years ago) my mother gave me a present of a photo album in the style of ‘this is your life’. As I looked through it, I was astounded to discover that it stopped when I left home! Yes, mothers do think of us as how we were when we were at home.

  77. I love the post. Life is surely full of those mountains. Thanks for the helpful insight. Have a wonderful weekend.

  78. voluntaryfiber

    Your posts inspire me every time – thank you!

  79. Agree it is a lovely post. It reminded me of a taekwondo pattern which symbolises mountain http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LQH1cOQ6W_Q&feature=player_embedded

  80. LOVE this post, I need to remember this often 🙂 Thank you!

  1. Pingback: Dear Thursday, 26.June.2012 | Life's a stage – WebBlog

  2. Pingback: How to get supported | The Wamani —————————————————————

  3. Pingback: Up to the Mountain – When it seems the world is against your dreams « My Spanish Translator

Leave a Reply

