Sameness: Because we are all unique and unknown even to ourselves

Image

As I have progressed in age… yes, I like to sound like I’m old sometimes, even though I’ve discovered 30 is not so old. I hate it when my parents were right. Not the point. As I have progressed in age, I’ve discovered a wonderful thing about my thoughts. They’ve matured, well somewhat. And I think the nicest thing that has come of this is that answer to the question many of us struggle with when we are young.

So many of us (if not all of us) have a tendency to feel different. We feel like we aren’t quite the same. We feel like we aren’t ever going to be the same. And as a teenager, this can be a daunting thing to deal with. But what’s nice to know now is that we were right. We aren’t the same. BUT, neither is anyone else. And that makes us ALL the same.

We are all unique. We all have something different. We all have something individual to offer. Even if other people have the same qualities, simply by the virtue that no two of us live the exact same life (even conjoinied twins) we all have something a little bit different to give. We are all great in our individuality.

It’s ironic that something that states our separation also states how we are united. We are all just people. We have forgotten things about our lives. There are things we don’t even know about ourselves anymore. Sometimes I find it really hard to remember how I used to think, and I wonder why I felt the way I used to feel. We all grow, we all change. Some more than others, but nonetheless. We have to be willing to accept that we are both different and the same. And that there ARE people who understand us. That we can all offer something worth while. Everything in life changes and fades. Time moves forward. Life goes on. “This too shall pass” is an important thing to recognize. We can all get through our issues and our problems. Especially when we do take the time to realize that despite the fact that we are unique, everyone else is too. And though no two experiences are the exact same, there are similarities. There are good things to be offered forth by others.

We have the ability to thrive in as individuals. But only because we are the same as everyone else. Only because we have something worth giving. So work towards the things you have to give. Find others who have worked to give the same things too. There is a wealth of knowledge in all of us unique human beings. And it’s enough to turn the tides of our lives and point us to where we want to go.

About laurenc129

I'm a mom. Sometimes my hands turn orange. Other times I write. On twitter: @laurenc129

Posted on June 14, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 46 Comments.

  1. When I read this post, I thought how well it collaborated my own opinions! I think human beings could find more joy in life if they remembered better that if they feel someone else is strange, he or she can look right back and say they are strange too! It really helps me to foster compassion and love if I remember that everyone has their own unique troubles to deal with, just like me. I was really glad to read that you agreed with that idea!

  2. I love this post! The unity through difference is a refrshing persspective

  3. very well written.!!! just what i feel everyday ;)i always feel that i am unique but you have proved that wrong… 😉 your style of writing inspired me very much.. i started writing from past 4 months and have a lot to learn from you 🙂

  4. This really spoke to me today… thank you!

  5. Great post!! Loved too the way you talk about being unique and the same at the same time without the one contradicting the other. There’s something very philosophical in your piece and I mean that in a very positive way.

  6. Love your writing and insight! 🙂 Thanks!

  7. When I was young, I lamented the fact that I couldn’t make myself fit in. The older I got, the more I grew to appreciate that “flaw.” Now, I’m so much myself that I couldn’t fake it if I tried. Life is much better that way. Loved this post!

  8. Had to drop by and give it read, and nice surprise! I really like it, simple, but complex in its admissions, I enjoyed it throughout.

  9. Thanks Lauren, for another great thought for today – that’s kinda how I look upon your posts. Seriously, I think your second book is right here! 365 Daily Thoughts and Contemplations 🙂

    Anyway… I like the duality in your thinking here. I think some of us may already be aware of the paradox – that being unique is actually common to everyone, but I like the way you talk about it here.

    I understand about getting old. When I turned 30 I really felt no different… I still felt like I was 25. (Still do!) The people at work started calling me “gramps” though because they were all in their 20’s LOL But it’s interesting to see how your thought processes change, especially when you become a parent….

    …and – horrors! – you find yourself thinking like your own parents LOL That’s something I’ve been conscious of – saying and thinking things that my own parents said to me.

    Except now I have a much better understanding of why they said it 🙂

    • Thank you, Thank you! I can remember being in my early 20s and talking with one of my friends saying, I wonder when you hit that point where you think your parents might have been right about some things, because I haven’t hit it yet! They were wrong about a lot 🙂 but this aging thing they were right about. Time does fly. And I really don’t feel old.

  10. fivereflections

    life can be beautiful, no matter what age you are!
    David in Maine USA

  11. authnaomisarah

    Perspective is the key to happiness, isn’t it?

    I’m following you on twitter. naomisarah1

  12. Thanks Lauren. You certainly have had those epiphanies earlier than I did! It took me years to get some of these life lessons, some I’m still learning, but that’s what makes life so rich and fascinating – great post, love ya work!

    • Thank you! I like to blame a few good teachers I had in college for the work they did in helping us to try to uncover these things. A lot of it I didn’t necessarily get or agree with while in the classes, but as time has gone on, I’ve realized how important the information was that they were trying to share!

  13. I like this perspective, Lauren! And the photo is spesh. I’m pinning! 🙂 Thank you!

  14. I like that thought: We are all unique and can never be duplicated in the form of someone else, yet we are all the same in a way that beautifully unifies us. I think pondering this will help me in my struggle to divorce myself from my uniqueness to be too much the same as other people. The reality is, we are all the same in the ways that matter, the portions of who we are that make us necessarily compatible. The joy would be taken out of relating with one another if we stifled the differences and made ourselves in each others images rather than in God’s.

  15. A great post, as with all of the ones I have read so far. I happen to like the variety in people who are different than I am—-I learn the most from them. Look forward to more enjoyable reading at your blog. May the day be good to you.

    • Thank you. The day was quite nice to me! And hope the night and morning are good to you! I’ve really come to appreciate the differences and trying to learn how to grow myself in areas I hadn’t thought of before.

  16. everyone is unique, i love this case

  17. Being unique is something we should treasure…but having “like’ qualities with others helps us to understand and support each other because we can identify…Diane

  18. Life is full of unique things to learn and to help others. Everyday is new with something to learn. I love your post. Thank you have a great day.

  19. I found this in my inbox this evening and I found it was exactly what I needed to read.Very inspiring and uplifting:0)

  20. A short piece [http://wp.me/p1Gc9D-3m] for you to read in addition to this post.

Leave a Reply

