Using your talent for good

I was up until 4 am last night because they had a really gruesome crime scene near my town and in my town over the past few days. And that stuff makes me worry unnecessarily and excessively. I think I have some lasting PTSD from when I was younger, but I feel a lot better this evening after they caught the suspects. . And I finally have my computer back. I had to use my phone the last few days, so I apologize for all of the grammar/spelling/autocorrect errors that may have occurred!

One thing that did happen over the past few days was that I was reminded once again to be thankful for the days we have. Particularly because each one gives us the chance to do something good. To help ourselves and help others. We have the chance to use our gifts to grow and work and change the world. We have something existent within us each day that has the capacity to leave a lasting mark of love. Whether we write it, paint it, swim it, create music, lend an ear, offer true advice, or smile as often as we can, doing so makes a difference. It matters to us. It matters to others. It matters to the world. We are all significant, whether we feel anyone else (or even we ourselves) realizes it or not. We can do something worth doing each time the sun rises. Every morning is a new chance to start over, move forward, and find ourselves coming closer to where we want to be. So do not waste it. Let it be worthwhile.

Β ~~

I just wanted to take a moment to thank the following bloggers for nominating me for a myriad of awards over the past few days. I tried to figure out if there was a good way to answer all the questions or how to space things out, but I decided it was best to simply extend my gratitude to each of you. You all have wonderful blogs on a variety of topics. And I really appreciate you taking the time out to acknowledge me and to read my blog in general. It’s truly humbling and extremely kind of you all. Thank you so much! Check out their blogs J

Β 

http://jhasmoments.wordpress.com

http://hodgepodge4thesoul.wordpress.com

http://thejottersjoint.wordpress.com

http://hometogo232.wordpress.com

http://bty14.wordpress.com

http://theblazingtrail.wordpress.com/

About laurenc129

I'm a mom. Sometimes my hands turn orange. Other times I write. On twitter: @laurenc129

Posted on June 13, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Your blog is wonderful! I just camped out here for a while. And thanks for stopping by mine.

  2. Great article! Thanks for the like on my page, the article, “Sacrifice of Praise.” Glad you liked it, and I appreciate you taking the time to read it. God bless you!

  3. Thanks for this post. I really needed to read this today.

  4. I love this: “We have something existent within us each day that has the capacity to leave a lasting mark of love. Whether we write it, paint it, swim it, create music, lend an ear, offer true advice, or smile as often as we can, doing so makes a difference. It matters to us. It matters to others. It matters to the world.”

    I’ve always thought this too. If everyone lived like this, there would be no wars!

  5. Hey Lauren,

    First of all, I hope you got a good night’s sleep tonight. I’m working all kinds of ungodly hours this week and didn’t finish til 3am. I’m about to go to bed myself! Tomorrow night is not so bad – I get home at a decent hour – well… decent ish… 11:30pm… πŸ™‚

    Secondly, given your childhood experience, I’d say it’s perfectly natural to feel that way. I hope things are better today.

    It’s funny how you wrote about doing good… because that’s part of the message I wrote about in my own blog tonight, in a second letter to my younger self. I’m firmly convinced that the more you act for the greater good, the greater the good that comes your way… if that makes sense.

    Sometimes, however, we put up barriers, for whatever reason, and it can be heard to overcome those. Sometimes those barriers are reasons, but more often than not, they’re only excuses.

    Anyway, it’s late, it’s time for bed… but thank you again for giving me something to think about πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I did end up feeling better and actually sleeping some last night, which was wonderful!

      And you are right about the barriers. They are so easy to put up and grow out of control that we don’t even realize that we are just using them, and don’t really need them.

  6. voluntaryfiber

    Your message is just what i needed to read today – thanks!

  7. I agree with you about using our gifts to help others… everyone has a gift of some sort, just not everyone has the ability to see the gift they are πŸ™‚ lovely post! (all but the gruesome bit, lol!)

    • Thank you! I like “just not everyone has the ability to see the gift they are.” That’s a very, very true statement! Most of us have trouble seeing it. At least at some point Thanks again πŸ™‚

      • captainpractical

        Hi Lauren,

        Yesterday was my last day at work and today I had a meeting with a community organisation where I put forward some plans I had been working on around sustainability.
        The staff got excited and it looks like I will be able to follow my passion & put my skills to use to make a “real difference” .
        All it takes is the courage & support to try!
        I am glad you are feeling better after the recent incident .
        I am already recommending your book to others & I believe your talents are already doing good in the World πŸ™‚

      • Thank you very much! That’s so kind of you. And I’m VERY excited about your new career that you are taking on. I love your posts, and sustainable communities are so important. I’m really happy that you are getting to do this. Keep us updated on how it goes! I hope you love it and it all goes well!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

