The Waiting Game

“And when you’re in a Slump,
you’re not in for much fun.
Un-slumping yourself
is not easily done.

You will come to a place where the streets are not marked.
Some windows are lighted.  But mostly they’re darked.
A place you could sprain both your elbow and chin!
Do you dare to stay out?  Do you dare to go in?
How much can you lose? How much can you win?

And IF you go in, should you turn left or right…
or right-and-three-quarters? Or, maybe, not quite?
Or go around back and sneak in from behind?
Simple it’s not, I’m afraid you will find,
for a mind-maker-upper to make up his mind.

You can get so confused
that you’ll start in to race
down long wiggled roads at a break-necking pace
and grind on for miles across weirdish wild space,
headed, I fear, toward a most useless place.
The Waiting Place…” Dr. Seuss, Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

I bought this book for Jack on Friday. It’s one of my favorite books in general. I hadn’t read it in years, and I was thinking about how frustrating it is to be waiting, when I came across this part of the book. Ironically what I thought about was the fact that Dr. Seuss, who I always imagine as being fun, and not having issues in life in general, he knew how I feel sometimes. He knew how hard it is to get out of a slump. He knew how frustrating it can be when you get stuck in that place where you are just waiting for something to happen. Waiting for something to change. Waiting for someway to figure out what on Earth to do because nothing makes sense anymore and sometimes you don’t even know if you want it to.

It’s easy to get stuck in those places. Stuck in the darkness and end up waiting. I feel like I’ve been waiting a lot lately. And it’s a normal part of life. Now I know that I have to do things and be proactive. But a few years back I had no idea that it was even possible to not be waiting. I didn’t know that there was something I could do. I didn’t really think that there was something I should have to do, because I sort of decided that I was put in the place that I was at because of all the things that had happened to me. So I didn’t understand why someone couldn’t just come along, and see what I had to offer or show me that I had something to offer like these other people I saw had happen to them. So I waited. And I waited. And I waited. And nothing ever changed.

That’s the thing. Nothing changes if we don’t let it, but nothing changes if we don’t make it either. We all have things that we are waiting on, but sometimes we are waiting on everything. And we can’t do that. We have to be able to take control of our minds and our bodies and our souls. We have to get the help we need when we need it. And we have to put in the effort. Because, “You’re on your own.  And you know what you know.
And YOU are the guy who’ll decide where to go.”

If you’ve never read it, I highly recommend reading it. You can google it, and find the text. It has good advice. (The urge to rhyme here is really bad, but I’m going to refrain, he’s better at it than me!)

Stop playing the waiting game. Nothing worthwhile can come of it. We have to live each moment. No one can live them for us. We are the makers of our own decisions. And that gives us power beyond measure over our lives!

About laurenc129

I'm a mom. Sometimes my hands turn orange. Other times I write. On twitter: @laurenc129

Posted on June 3, 2012, in June 2012, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Thanks for reminding me about this book, which is a favorite of mine, too. This part especially reminds me of how I feel about horseback riding right now:
    “You will come to a place where the streets are not marked.
    Some windows are lighted. But mostly they’re darked.
    A place you could sprain both your elbow and chin!
    Do you dare to stay out? Do you dare to go in?
    How much can you lose? How much can you win?”

    And “How much can you win?” makes me think — I’m doing the right thing by continuing to learn even though I’m a bit scared, because it has helped my self-esteem in so many ways.

    • That’s wonderful that it has helped you. I’ve secretly always wanted to be an equestrian as well. I love horses, but it scares me, too. And putting yourself out of your comfort zone to learn is such a hard, but rewarding thing to do. I’m glad you are doing it! Much success to you on your adventure!! 🙂

  2. When I taught 11th grade English, I would read this to the students as part of our study of the authors and themes of Post-Modernism. Big hit.

  3. captainpractical

    Hmmm waiting is an interesting topic. I think having an intention,trusting and keeping open can allow opportunities to arise.
    As a good friend of mine who has been through a lot in life says “Go with the Flow”

    • Yes, I’m a go with the flow kind of person. But, I think you are still going. You aren’t just feeling stuck with no control or input whatsoever. You are believing and letting it go and continuing on and doing what needs to be done in the mean time.

  4. The first 4 lines are raw and valid. I never would have thought that Dr. Seuss would have taught me not only in my childhood, but also as an adult. Thank you for sharing and for reminding me !

  5. It sounds like maybe you have some decisions or changing in the making…or wondering about them?? Diane

    • Well, mostly just deciding what to do next career-wise. I’m being told a lot of things by a lot of different people right now, in terms of the book publishing industry and things like that, and I’m not really certain what best or what I should be doing, which makes me feel like I’m waiting,even though I’m trying to be active and proactive! 🙂

  6. What a wonderful post and so true. We need to live every moment to the fullest and not wait around for anyone or anything to just happen. Thanks for the reminder!

  7. Change My Body...Change My Life

    Thou spaketh the truth. So did good ole Dr. Seuss. I think I’m going to reread that book.

    And if you’d tried to rhyme, I would have applauded.

  8. Awesome!! I am going to go buy this!!

  9. I’ve had times when both my personal and work life have been manic… but in a good way. Those times have actually been quite fun… other times, like now, my work is kinda manic but my personal life is almost at a stand still. One thing I know for sure… there’s going to be a lot of movement in my future. I can feel it. Always in motion is the future… Okay, now I’m beginning to sound like Yoda. Time for bed 🙂

Leave a Reply

