Day 29 – Having the courage to try

Last night I watched “We Bought a Zoo.” And in it he says, “all you need is 20 seconds of insane courage…” And that made me think about all the people I knew who had something to say about the movie. So many people said it was just what they needed. They were thinking about major changes in their lives and they needed something to happen. It’s funny how so many of us feel that way. That we need something to happen. There needs to be a change. We aren’t where we want to be, and we aren’t sure we are getting to where we want to be either. In life it’s quite easy to lose track of where we wanted to go.

Circumstance can be to blame much of the time, but it’s circumstance that we have created for the most part. We want to believe something can still happen. And when we see it happen for other people, we believe it again ourselves. But we need constant reminders. Most of us see something, get inspired, but never take the steps to follow through. We tend to look over just how much it takes to take a chance. To just go for it. To go for all that we wanted. A lot of times we opt not to because we don’t want to fail. Because if we fail at the things we really want, then what does that mean? What’s left from there? And it goes a lot deeper.

Unfortunately for us, taking the easy way has a tendency to become the hard way. Because easy has a tendency to couple itself right up with unfulfilled. And maybe it’s easy at first to live that way, because we still hope and there’s still time. But time moves much more quickly, and what we find when we look back is chances not taken. And the mundane of the everyday and unfulfilled gets wearing. We have reasons we do what we do. We have reasons for the things we don’t do as well. I’ve studied psychology for a long time. I’ve counseled people. I’ve consulted. I’ve spent the better half of my life helping people, even in a non-professional level. People have always come to me for help. I never understood why when I was younger. Even now, I’m not always sure. But it always seems to work out.

In life we have to have an understanding. We have to have a reason to believe in ourselves. We have to have the skills to look inside and understand ourselves. Because society has a tendency to tell us things that are untrue. The people closest to us, even our closest friends and family don’t always have our best interest in mind. That means it’s up to us to care enough about ourselves to learn how to get to where we need to be.

Today my book was “officially” released. In paper back and in e-book format. In certain book stores who were willing to take a chance. And at this point in time when I’m surrounded by chaos, and lots of bad news, I’m not sure what to do with that. I was told I needed to tell people it was out, so I guess I am right now. But I don’t know if this is how I’m supposed to do it. It’s hard, because I knew how important it was that I don’t waste anyone’s time. The reason I wrote the book that I wrote, and not a “quick fix” book as was suggested to me, is because the message that’s in the book is important. Transformation takes time. Changing your life takes time. But it starts with one day. It starts with knowledge. It starts with taking the moment to say, I’m going to try. I’m going to jump in. I’m going to have insane courage. And the book tells you why you should have that courage. It tells you why you are worthy of the things you need. It tells you how to breathe again when it’s dark and frustrating. It tells you why you should make it through. It tells you how to start changing your life, piece by piece. And why your life can and should become the amazing life you wanted, no matter what has happened in the past. It tells you how to forgive, how to let go, how to move forward. All the things that are too long to write in a blog. And it tells it well.

So what I’mΒ  saying is I hope everyone has the courage to try. Try to become the person you want to be. If the book can help, take a look. If you know someone who needs a life change or just wants an entertaining read, or needs a graduation gift, tell them to look. It’s worth the time. It’s worth the information. And it’s worth taking the chance to try. The read is easy. The information is good. Nothing I’ve ever done has taken more courage. And it’s terrifying. So even though you don’t have to, if you want to share the message. If someone needs help, lead them to it. We all have somewhere we need to go. We just need a little guidance sometimes in getting there.

And if you bought a zoo already, or have a story to share, let me know πŸ™‚ We all have multiple things to contribute. We all have things to make life worthwhile. So why not share them? Why not have the courage to try!?

Amazon:

Between Fear and Love

Barnes and Nobles:

Between Fear and Love

About laurenc129

I'm a mom. Sometimes my hands turn orange. Other times I write. On twitter: @laurenc129

Posted on May 29, 2012, in 31 days of May, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Thanks for reading my blog post! I like this one of yours very much. I often say I am a work in progress. I think anyone, regardless of age or background, can be a work in progress too. We are never too old to learn new tricks! Much luck with your book, I’m in the process of writing one myself. Regards, Sian

    • I think everyone is definitely a work in progress. And I think it’s important to be life-long learners and growers. There’s always something new we can do to make our lives and the lives of others better! Thanks sharing that! And good luck on your book, as well! It will be a fun journey! πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Lauren! Great to find your blog! Many congratulations to you on your book, your precious motherhood, and your encouragement for all of us. Several years ago I jumped head first into the “doing” of life. I just started my first book, decided to let my business writing take a personal turn, and am getting ready to do my first open mic. Fear chokes me about that as I write it.. I am so proud, though, The songs I will be singing are my own. I’ve written them for guitar– lyrics too. If you believe you can write lyrics, you can! Go for it. It is from the heart. And I look forward to reading your book. Again, lovely to read your posts.

    • Thank you very much! Congratulations on your open mic night!! That is scary, but definitely exciting!! I sing in my car, but not in front of people. I love that you write music. Music is one of my favorite things. It keeps me sane. And I admire those of you with the talent to play instruments and the bravery to share it with the world!!

  3. Wow, that’s brilliant. Many, many congratulations on the book – I’m going to buy it soon so I can read it on my tablet. I’m just waiting for my loan to come through first, but I promise you, I will buy it. I had a look on Amazon and it’s already had some 5 star reviews πŸ˜€ Well done!

    You’re actually the second blogger I follow to have published a book – the first was Know The Sphere. I just want to say one more thing before James and I go to the park πŸ™‚

    You have no idea how much you’re inspiring me just by publishing this. I still want to write an astronomy book and, one day, I will… I have to admit I keep falling back on “I don’t have the time…” but I will…

    • Thank you so much! I really appreciate that, and I enjoy all of your posts so much… you should probably turn that into a book, too… even if it’s just for James… It’s hard not to fall back on the time thing, because with work and kids it’s incredibly hard to find the time. But I hope you do write one. I’ll read it. I took astronomy in college. I like the stars. And the universe. I hope you had a good trip to the park! I’m glad he’s feeling well enough to go! πŸ™‚ And thank you again. I appreciate all of the support!

      • I might need to call you on to give me your opinion then πŸ™‚ James isn’t quite into astronomy… he got a major kick out of looking at the Moon, Jupiter and Venus a few months back though. I would dearly love for him to spend some ‘scope time with me, but I wouldn’t force him into it either. See, some fathers take their sons fishing… others play football with them… I just want to show James the stars LOL

        I still dream of lying out under the night sky during the Perseids and seeing who can count the most shooting stars πŸ™‚

      • That sounds like fun, counting shooting stars. I think he’ll love that one day soon! I bet once he figures out what all that stuff is up in the sky he will love it. My teacher had one of those really powerful flashlights and we would point out the constellations with it… that is one of the nice things about living on a beach that isn’t lined with street lights, you really can see a ton of stars out there at night. And the reflections on the water look pretty at night as well.

      • I bought and downloaded the Kindle version tonight – I’m looking forward to reading it – I like the dedication πŸ™‚ No worries πŸ˜€

      • Oh wow, thank you!! That’s awesome. And yes, she’s a worrier, so I always try to make her stop! I hope you enjoy it. πŸ™‚

  4. captainpractical

    Hi Lauren,

    Some things in life amaze me!
    I am hoping to embark on a new career after being made redundant hence my post of the Auckland skyline today. I viewed the below Ted Talk yesterday that resonated with me and then your like made me look at your blog and I plan now on buying your book as it to resonated along the same theme ……

    Thank you,
    Patrick

    • Thank you very much, that’s very kind of you! Let me know if you have any questions. And thanks for sharing the video! I hadn’t seen that one yet, it really is a good message! πŸ™‚

      • captainpractical

        Yes I will let you know if I have questions and I look forward to reading your book. I have been writing & recording songs this year so I commend your efforts thus far. πŸ™‚

      • I love music! I secretly want to be a lyricist! πŸ™‚ I’ll have to check yours out! Good luck! It’s always good to see people following their dreams! πŸ™‚

  5. Thank you very much πŸ™‚

  6. Much success on your new book…and with the things you’re facing at this time…Diane

  1. Pingback: Positive Affirmation | QUOTES OF ENCOURAGEMENT

Leave a Reply

