Day 22 – Looking for inspiration in the haze

Image

Far away in the sunshine are my highest aspirations. I may not reach them, but I can look up and see their beauty, believe in them, and try to follow where they lead.”  – Louisa May Alcott

This week while I was sitting with my son, who has been sick (we actually leave for a doctor’s appointment soon), I was looking out of the window and it looked like the trees in the yard were glowing. It was really beautiful. And Jack thought it looked like magic. He was genuinely excited about it. I really appreciated how enthusiastic he was. He tends to be that way in general. He’s enthusiastic and encouraging. He makes it a point to enjoy whatever he is doing. He’s really one of the happiest people I know, and I am so happy about that. His enthusiasm reminded me of just how important it is to allow ourselves to be inspired.

While looking at the trees, I was reminded of some that I used to see in the mornings on the way to school when I was in college. It was a mixture of cherry blossoms and some trees I didn’t recognize. But when the light would hit them, they would glow. And it always put me in a better mood. When we let things in and we let them inspire us, even the smallest things like the glowing leaves, it has the capacity to shift our moods. We start focusing on that feeling of inspiration of happiness, and the other frustrations, like that of getting up and going to class!

Sometimes it’s easy to lose track of just how much the little things (or the way we perceive them) in life do affect us. Those things that we take in or that we disregard are the little triggers for our mood. They have the ability make us smile or leave us anxious or upset. We take in so much information a day. It’s coming at us in every form and from every direction. What is it that we choose to focus on and why? When we start looking at the things we do, even down to the smallest things, like what we opt to filter out, we get to a point where we can ask the pivotal question of why? Why do we ignore some things and not others? Why do we focus on some things as opposed to others? Part of the answer is that we have to. We have to focus in one direction and not another. We can’t absorb everything. We would overload. We would have no course of action, because we’d simply spend all of our time trying to sort out what we are taking in with each step. This means that our steps are directed, and they are somewhat directed by the things we’ve chosen to take in. The things we choose to acknowledge. And that means the path that we are going down is dependent upon what we have chosen to give our attention to. When we give our attention to boredom or frustration that’s where our path leads. Yet, if we take the time to shift our attention just briefly and look for something inspiring and let it in, no matter how small, we’ve shifted our path. And even the slightest shifts can make a big difference. Especially if we opt to repeat them. We can change our course if we don’t like what we see doing the tiniest of things, just like this. And when I get into those slumps where things are just overwhelmed and frustrating and I find those moments where I have the chance to be inspired, I try to take them. Because looking for inspiration allows us to find it. And it can help lead us to a brighter path.

(As a sidenote we are back from the doctor, and they think it’s just a virus, but his temp keeps jumping up. It’s 103.5 right now an hour after Tylenol, so any well wishes are appreciated!!)

As another addendum:

I received the Regeneration Award from http://thelastsongiheard.wordpress.com/regenerations/.

I just wanted to say thank you, and if you like music, you should check out his blog, it’s got a unique theme and it’s an interesting read.

And I wanted to say that I nominated http://hometogo232.wordpress.com/ for the award also, because she, too, has a very compelling blog and life’s journey that she shares.

As for the questions asked:

Who are you? I’m Lauren…

Are you happy? Yes, I am!

If you could change just one thing about yourself, right now, to make your life better, what would it be? I just want to keep growing and becoming the person I want to be.

Who, or what, inspires you? This is an ironic question considering my topic for today… so the things I mentioned in the blog and outside of my family and friends I would pick music. Music in general inspires me. I love music. It makes me happy.

So thanks again! 🙂

About laurenc129

I'm a mom. Sometimes my hands turn orange. Other times I write. On twitter: @laurenc129

Posted on May 22, 2012, in 31 days of May, babies and bugs, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Hope he feels better & get well soon.
    I like your positive attitude to seek inspiration! Where there is a will, there is a way. 🙂

  2. Congratulations, I love the quote and what you had to say…Terri 🙂

  3. Firstly, I hope your son is doing better… my son has also had a high temperature and is generally not doing well… we think his fever has broken though as it seems to be going down, but he’s pretty congested and we’ve noticed some kind of eye infection going on. Now my eyes are a bit itchy too!

    I’m honestly not a praying man… but I’ll hold your son in my thoughts and I send you both my best wishes and hopes for a speedy recovery. It’s not fun being ill, especially when you’re only five or six.

    Secondly, thanks for the mention… and your award was well deserved, as is Diane’s… my site is currently on a temporary lockdown but if there’s anyone reading this who’d like to read it, they’re more than welcome to send me a request 🙂

    http://thelastsongiheard.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for the well wishes! They may have the same thing. Jack has congestion and his eyes are all irritated as well. She says it’s a virus and the fever should break by tomorrow. Otherwise we have to go back. His keeps going up and down. We will keep you all in our thoughts too!

      • The doc says James has pink eye, an ear infection and a suspected case of strep throat, poor little guy.

        I don’t know where you’re at, but apparently Louisville is a hot zone for pink eye right now and of course it’s highly infectious, so watch out…

  4. First…I have said a little prayer for you son…Second ..thank you for thinking of me and nominating me for the Regeneration Award…Thirdly..you’re right …when I do think on the smaller wonders of life and the world around it does put things in perspective…I just love sitting and looking at birds going to and fro in the garden..and things like that of nature….Diane

    • Thank you for the prayers! They are much appreciated. And you certainly deserve it! I like watching the animals outside as well. It’s peaceful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

