A journey through May, Mental Health Month

In an effort to be more productive with this blog, I decided that since May is “Metal Health Month” I would try to write something every day that in some form or fashion has to do with mental health. It’s interesting to me having studied psychology for as long as I have to see how the public field divides around mental health. There are those who are adamant about mental health and the help that can be derived from the “industry.” And there are those who despise its existence all together. I often have the argument presented to me, “If I am starving thinking good thoughts isn’t going to save me.” And while this may be true, as mental health isn’t physical food it does still play a role. The way we think, our habits, our mindsets they make a difference in just about everything. And perhaps if one is starving something as intangible as hope may not feed them, but it may give him the faculties to hold on until help arrives or to devise a plan on his own.

To doubt the importance of that which we cannot see is to doubt the importance of that which we can. Our physical existence is dependent upon our mental existence. We live in a world where perception is reality. And our perception, all that we perceive in life allows for our existence. Neglecting it is rarely beneficial to anyone. And working to better oneself in any form, including our mental health is what makes life a life that is lived.

So this is my initial blog to start off “Mental Health Month.” I’m not good at coming up with things to write every day. But I am going to do my homework and try to figure out something to say that is worth saying each day to provide a positive, encouraging look at living life through a mental health lens. Any ideas are certainly welcome!

About laurenc129

I'm a mom. Sometimes my hands turn orange. Other times I write. On twitter: @laurenc129

Posted on May 1, 2012, in 31 days of May, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Its such as you read my mind! You seem to understand so much about this, like you wrote the ebook in it or something. I feel that you can do with some p.c. to force the message house a bit, but instead of that, that is magnificent blog. An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

  1. Pingback: Perceptions, Reality, Truth and Mental Health | ahmrita natural mental health

Leave a Reply

