Creativity from “the most uncreative”

Sometimes I get concerned that my creativity is simply gone. I figure it’s similar to the: if you don’t use it you lose it, adage. It’s a muscle I only exert in terms a 3-year-old understands. He’s worth the creativity. He forces it out of me anyway, so at least it is being utilized in some form. But, I think sometimes I miss it. Even if in high school I had a teacher (one of my favorites) tout me as “the most uncreative student ever!”  In actuality I only refused to be creative because I didn’t want to be graded on it. I didn’t want anyone to judge my creativity or think it was weird or worse, less than the best. So I opted to simply just do the basics. My point is, I want to be creative again. At least I think I do. So if any of the people I didn’t tell I have a blog can figure out how to make that happen, let me know! Maybe it works kind of like willing things into reality, right? Writing stuff to people who don’t know you are writing it to them, and yet they respond anyway. We’ll see. Of course while waiting, if anyone needs someone to stand on a pretend stage with a pretend microphone and tell stories about whatever a preschooler instructs them to, I’m your girl!

About laurenc129

I'm a mom. Sometimes my hands turn orange. Other times I write. On twitter: @laurenc129

Posted on April 5, 2012, in babies and bugs, Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can so relate to this! Except for I don’t have any 3 year olds around me forcing me to be creative… I’ve been trying to regain my creativity for the past 4 years, and I think maybe it’ll come back someday soon. I feel it lurking near. I just need to chase it down and beat it to submission with a lot of crappy attempts first 🙂

Leave a Reply

